Plant Ag Sweeps Awards at the Canadian Weed Society Annual Meeting


The Canadian Weed Science Society  had its annual meeting last week in Niagara Falls. Peter Sikkema was the Local Arrangement Committee Chair and he did a tremendous job. Many Plant Ag people won awards at the conference as well and these are listed below: 

The Canadian Weed Science Society Outstanding Professional Staff Award was conferred to Peter Smith

In the Graduate Student Presentation Competition, Guelph Grads swept the podium:

  • Lauren Benoit first
  • Nicole Berardi second
  • Brendan Metzger third

Brendan Metzger won the Bayer Weed Science Scholarship to the most meritorious M. Sc. Student

The Third Place Award in the Poster Competition was won by grad student Ted Vanhie (with co-authors Tardif, Swanton and Cowbrough)

François Tardif, was a co-author with M.-J. Simard, M. Laforest, B. Soufiane and D.-L. Benoit of the Best Weed Science Paper in Canadian Journal of Plant Science