2013 Seed of the Year Scholarship


Robert Bruce, a Plant Agriculture PhD candidate who is working with Dr. Istvan Rajcan, is this year's recipient of the Seed of the Year Scholarship.

Presentation of scholarship award to Robert Bruce

Photo: Presentation of award. From left, Dr. Istvan Rajcan (Dept. Plant Agriculture), Martin Harry (Eastern Marketing Manager, SeCan), Robert Bruce (recipient), Dr. Rene Van Acker (Associate Dean External Relations, OAC)

The Seed of the Year competition is designed to recognize the research accomplishments of public plant breeders in developing new field crop, forage, fruit, vegetable or herb varieties. Any publicly developed Canadian variety is eligible to compete. The winner is selected on his/her past contributions to the overall industry. This recognition is linked this to the future by allowing the winner of the award to present a scholarship to a student enrolled at a masters or PhD level in plant breeding or plant genetics.

Follow this link for more details about Robert Bruce and the Seed of the Year Scholarship program: 2013 Seed of the Year Scholarship

Congratulations Robert!